Black Forest Cake

We have a faithful vegan chocolate cake recipe. Having withstood the test of time, it has served as our wedding cake, birthday cakes, bake sale cupcakes, and so on. Almost every time, non-vegans say “this is VEGAN?!!” It is that amazingly moist, chocolatey, and delicious. It is the Dairy-Free Chocolate Cake from the Joy of Cooking, and I recommend that you buy or borrow that cookbook to try it out. I won’t reproduce the recipe here as I don’t have permission, but I can say that it is based on a magic combination of oil, vinegar, and baking soda to give it its texture. It mixes up in minutes, freezes well, and can sit in the fridge, covered in icing, for half a week without getting stale.

This is all a preamble to show off my most recent project with this cake, Black Forest cake. I volunteered to make my mother’s birthday cake, and my wife asked me to make it a Black Forest style.

I didn’t write down the details, because I was trying to fill and frost the cake, make chocolate curls, and get dressed all in an hour before we had to leave. However, the main components are:

  • Two 8″ round vegan chocolate cake layers
  • Canned sweet cherries, stewed with corn starch until thick and slightly jelly-like and then cooled.
  • One batch of vegan whipped cream
  • Chocolate curls (To make: Melt dark chocolate and margarine together. Pour it in a mould, and chill. Once the chocolate is cold and firm, and the rest of the cake has been assembled, use a vegetable peeler to peel curls off the block and place directly on the frosted cake.)

I used a little whipped cream to “butter” the layers before I filled the cake with the cherries.

I recommend keeping this cake cool until serving, as vegan whipped cream isn’t as heat-stable as the dairy stuff.

A whipped-cream, cherries-and-chocolate dream



My mother was incredibly pleased, and said it was the best cake I had made so far. All of the omnivores at the party agreed that the coconut flavour of the frosting complemented the cake well.

Leave a Reply

