Cakes Lately

Just pictures of two cakes I made recently.

My nephew turned 11 and spends most of his free time playing Minecraft. He wanted a Minecraft block cake, so I made a cake that somewhat resembles a dirt block:

Minecraft dirt block

The original

The cake

The cake

It was my turn to bring a snack to share at lab meeting the day after the Chinese New Year. As many of my colleagues celebrate this holiday, I made a cake in the form of a snake – 2013 is the Year of the Snake.

I made chocolate banana bread and baked it in a smallish bundt ban and a tiny loaf pan, and cut and rearranged the pieces to resemble a snake. The cake was covered in chocolate buttercream and then some store-bought red fondant. This was my first time working with commercial fondant, and was WAY easier than I had expected.

Happy Chinese New Year!

Happy Chinese New Year!

A few weeks from now I’ll show pics of what I plan to make for my family birthday party!

One thought on “Cakes Lately

Leave a Reply

